Great Expectations…

WP_20150927_005

 

Andy and I have just returned from a whistle-stop trip to Bristol and, although it was really nice to get away and spend some time together, it wasn’t all I had hoped it would be. I know the reason for this…

Since my diagnosis I have looked at life very differently, and appreciate everything so much more. When we plan and look forward to a day out or a trip away, I REALLY look forward to it and consequently expect everything to be perfect, which of course, it is not. Therefore I can quite easily become disappointed if things don’t go exactly as I’d hoped. I do, of course, realise that life cannot always be perfect, but that doesn’t help me when things go wrong.  Our trip to Bristol actually went quite well, but there were a few minor disappointments which meant that I became very upset, and this marred our time away. It’s hard to change aspects of your personality that you do not like, but I really have to try harder to be more realistic in my expectations. and accept that there is no such thing as perfect.

Even though our trip wasn’t as good as I thought it would be, it was really nice for Andy and myself to spend some quality time together. We did some shopping, ate some nice food and even had some complimentary glasses of wine when the hotels booking in system crashed. You would think that free wine would make up for an hour delay in getting to our room, but it didn’t. I just kept thinking ‘we only have 24 hours away and sitting here waiting is wasting valuable time’. We kept calm about it and the staff were really nice about it too.

It was a bit like a trip down memory lane, as Andy and I got married in Bristol just over 25 years ago. I really love it there, as it is edgy and exciting and spending time there makes me feel really alive! We went to Stokes Croft and looked at the street art and also to St. Nicholas’ Market, where we enjoyed some tasty vegan food. Living in Devon, it is very difficult to eat out when you are following a vegan diet, but in Bristol you are spoilt for choice. During the evening I thought I would treat myself to a Cosmopolitan and so ordered one from room service – I could so get used to a life of luxury!!

We are planning a family trip to London in two weeks time, and I am going to endeavour  to ‘go with the flow’ a little more, rather than expecting perfection – After all we are only human and sometimes shit happens!

 

Leave a Reply

