High on Life!

There has recently been a massive change in my personality, one that everyone around me has noticed. I think this is partly due to my taking a drug more normally prescribed for addiction

It was through my consultation with Patricia Peat that I heard about LDN, Low Dose Naltrexone. This is an opiate blocking drug normally given to heroin addicts when they are trying to get clean. However, it has been found that when used in a very low dose (4.5ml), it has had some astounding results, not just for cancer but for many other conditions such as MS, Parkinsons Disease, Lupus, arthritis…

http://www.ldnresearchtrust.org/

From almost the minute I started taking it I felt so much happier. This is because it floods your body with endorphins. I believe it is LDN that has contributed to the shrinkage in my tumours, so it is basically a win/win situation! The only problem is in getting a GP to prescribe it, as it is not licensed for anything other than addiction. I was very lucky in that my GP treats me like an intelligent human being and she actually wants to help me in whatever way she can, so she was happy to prescribe it on a private prescription. You have to send the prescription to a chemist in Scotland and the cost of this whole thing is £18.50 per month. Imagine my astonishment then, when the prescription was sent in error to my local chemist who ordered it in at a cost of £350 to the NHS. What is that all about?

I have also started meditating for an hour a day, which has also contributed to my well being greatly. I read a book called ‘You are the Placebo’ and then downloaded the meditation cd that goes with it. I can highly recommend this to anyone. It has had such an affect that Andy knows if I’ve done it or not by my mood that day! It has helped me to think more positively instead of just dwelling on the worse case scenario all the time. The man who wrote the book believes that you can change your biology by using your mind, and after further research I honestly believe this to be true.

For the first time in nearly three years I am really enjoying life to the full and actually look forward to each new day. Having a cancer diagnosis makes you appreciate everything so much more anyway, but this has been heightened recently. I always appreciated nature and beauty before diagnosis, but now it’s on a whole new level!

Anyway, I had better go now, as the sun is shining here and I want to go and make the most of it!

2 thoughts on “High on Life!

  1. Claire, this is amazing makes me want to run outside and feel the sun on my face (except its night time – will wait till morning).xx

Leave a Reply

