Hello world!

Welcome to my blog.

Firstly, a little bit about myself. I am Claire, married to Andy and have two children of 7 and 10 who are home educated. We live in Moretonhampstead in Devon, within Dartmoor National Park, where we have lived for 17 months. Prior to this we lived in Bridport, Dorset for ten years. I have started this blog as an outlet for my feelings and thoughts on a whole variety of topics.

I have undergone quite extensive changes in my life over the past three years which have had a huge influence on the way I think about things and how I live my life. This process started in October 2012, when I was diagnosed with stage 3 Inflammatory Breast Cancer.

As I’m sure you can imagine, my life went into freefall after hearing this news, especially as my children were just 5 and 7 at that time. I began a rollercoaster journey of treatment and surgery without any real knowledge of the effects and consequences of following this path. In the past 34 months I have undergone many changes and have carried out extensive research into Cancer treatments and alternatives and want to share this process in the hope it may help others. I don’t want this blog to just be about my ‘cancer journey’ (I hate that phrase!’), but my diagnosis has had a huge impact on every other sector of my life and personality, so think it’s important to tell a little about how I came to this point in my life.

I have lost and also made new friends over the course of the last 3 years and each person has had an impact in some way. I have been incredibly blessed with some amazingly supportive friends and family who have been there every step of the way. Some of the support has come from people I very rarely see, and I have found it so comforting to know that these people are there for me in a very real way even if I don’t see them face to face.

I will explain some of the processes I have been through along the way, but for now I will give a brief synopsis of where I am now. I now have stage 4 metastatic breast cancer and I made a decision in May of this year to stop having chemotherapy and pursue more natural treatments. I came across a real lack of understanding from some quarters, but for the main I have received a lot of support and understanding. Through this process I have come into contact with a whole lot of new people who are helping me to understand what is going on in the world generally, not just in the case of cancer treatments.

I think that is enough for my first foray into this, but I will try and update daily. Thanks for reading….x

 

 

One thought on “Hello world!

Leave a Reply

